About Me

Alan Brand

SoFar

 

 

Currently living in Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada, previously in Toronto.
I started life in London, England, until I emigrated in 1967 at the ripe old age of 20.

 

 

 

Before embracing the challenges of retirement in January 2009, I used to work from my home-based virtual office as a self-employed computer consultant, specialising in custom application software and website design & maintenance : see www.xises.net

 

Interwebby

When I”m not on the computer, I like to do family things with my wife, Jan, and daughter, AJ (formerly known as Amy). Left behind in Toronto, and sorely missed, are my adult daughters – Alexa, and her son James, and Leah, her husband Grant, and their son Nolan & daughter Kate.

Elsie at home

I enjoy Classic British cars and currently run a 1959 Morris Minor Van (or Light Commercial Vehicle, LCV) called Elsie
I belong to The British Saloon Car Club of Canada … and I run a virtual Classic British Car Club, Grey Brits, whose philosophy is “No formality; No rules; No dues; No idea, really.



 

I still enjoy the music of my youth …Blues, R&B and Soul, pre-disco Rock N Roll – and I’ve learned to enjoy some Jazz, and Classical music (no opera or organs thank you!) in my dotage.

 

 

I read a lot. A lot. Mostly Fiction, heavy on spies and detectives, with the occasional dip into biographical adventure.
 

I mostly read on my e-reader (a pocket sized Sony Reader) as it’s just so damned convenient.

books

crypticCrossword

I like to solve cryptic crosswords. In pen.

At least two a day, usually the Globe & Mail (easy) and the Guardian ( usually harder). I used to regularly tackle the Times and The Telegraph puzzles, but haven’t yet justified the paywall costs to continue with them.

 

 

Thanks to my decrepit knees … … I’m beyond playing sports these days. I like to watch Rugby, “proper” Football (soccer to my North American friends), NFL Football (Oakland Raiders). I confess to a morbid fascination with televised curling.


Craic Pots

 

 

I like to drink draught Guinness in pubs on quiet afternoons.

 

 

Health Warning: I have a severe allergic reaction to some of the chemicals in cigarette smoke, similar to the better-known peanut allergy. Thanks to the smoke lingering on clothes and hair, I can be triggered into anaphylactic shock just by being near someone who smokes.